Hanoverian and Rhineland Horse Breeding

Hanoverian_Breeding_mare and Foal_Tessa Pfeil

The Hanoverian horse is one of the most important horse breeds of the world. With approx. 16,000 registered brood mares and more than 400 stallions, Hanover occupies a pole position worldwide and has considerably influenced many other riding horse breeds.

Horses with the Hanoverian brand shine as competition horses at tournaments all around the world. Olympic champions, world and European champions in dressage, show jumping and eventing descend from Lower Saxony, and they are the perfect ambassadors for quality and performance. Our horses also become increasingly popular when it comes to pleasure riding. The Verden auctions are appreciated showcase of our breed. 

Hanoverian Stallions

Hanover's outstanding position at national and international competitions is only possible due to consistently pursued selection measures.
There are approx. 400 stallions available for breeding. The Lower Saxonian National State Stud has stationed approx. 120 state stud sires at its different insemination stations. The other stallions are privately owned with a huge part of these owners being organized as association “Verein Hannoveraner Privathengsthalter P.B” (Association of Private Stallion Owners). 

Hanoverian Mares

More than 1,800 Hanoverian dam lines form the maternal background of the breed. They provide the foundation of success of the Hanoverian breed and are the result of thorough selection measures over generations.

Hanoverian Foals

A healthy foal is the greatest luck and pleasure for every breeder. The Hannoveraner Verband registers foals in the studbooks for Hanover, Rhineland and Hanoverian halfbred racehorses.

Hanoverian Dam lines

Mares out of well-bred foundation lines with a secured prepotency are the most valuable property of a horse breeder. Particularly the Hanoverian breed provides a huge number of outstanding dam lines that constantly produce excellent competition horses for the different disciplines, licensed stallions and valuable mares.

Hanoverian Breeding Programs

The extraordinary position of the Hanoverian horse at the national and international level was only possible to achieve due to consequently applied selection measures. The goals anchored in the breeding principles are meant to be achieved by means of a breeding program. Guidelines cope with up-to-date fields of action, and the Hanoverian Jumper Breeding Program forms the pillar for this partial population.

Keeping with tradition is one principle, but at the same time regularly searching and revealing new options is as important. 

History and origin of the Hanoverian Horse

The beginnings of purposefully breeding Hanoverian horses can be traced back into the 16th century. Hanoverian horses were bred and raised for agricultural and military purposes. Breeding horses was an essential basis of existence for the farmers. The foundation of the Celle National State Stud in 1735, launching the central registration of breeding and foalings, was tremendously important. Thoroughbred and English halfbred stallions were increasingly used to refine the breed “Hannöversches Pferd” at the beginning of the 19th century. The breed was consolidated after 1870 under consideration of native lines with the focus being placed on the horses being suitable as coach or military horses. The Hanoverian Studbook was founded during this time in 1888, the predecessor of the Verband we know today.
In 1922, the breeders teamed up and founded “Verband Hannoverscher Warmblutzüchter”, thus creating the basis for a central and uniform processing and assessment of all registered breeding activities. While special importance was placed on using the horses in agriculture in the years between the two World Wars, the Hanoverian breed was reorganized and restructured after the World War II. The Hanoverian breed was once again refined with Trakehnen and thoroughbred horses and developed into what it is today: an excellently to ride, noble, big-framed and correct warmblood horse, appreciated all over the world as sports and pleasure partner.

Hanoverian Sport and FRH

Today, the breeding of Hanoverian horses is focused on sports purposes. Hanoverian horses have all times been counting among the most successful horse breeds worldwide in the Olympic disciplines dressage, show jumping and eventing. This is still a fact today. The Hannoveraner Verband is also active in the field of sports promotion with its “Supporter’s Club for Hanoverian Sports Horses” FRH.

Hannoveraner und Rheinländer Pferdezucht

Hannoveraner_Zucht_Stute mit Fohlen_Tessa Pfeil

Der Hannoveraner ist eine der bedeutendsten Pferderassen der Welt. Mit rund 16.000 eingetragenen Zuchtstuten und über 400 Hengsten nimmt Hannover weltweit eine Spitzenposition ein und hat darüber hinaus maßgeblichen Einfluss auf viele andere Reitpferdezuchten.

Pferde mit dem hannoverschen Schenkelbrand sorgen vor allem als Sportler in den Arenen dieser Welt für Aufsehen. Olympiasieger, Welt- und Europameister im Dressur-, Spring- und Vielseitigkeitssport stammen aus Niedersachsen und sind die besten Botschafter für die Qualität und Leistungsfähigkeit der Hannoveraner. Im Freizeitbereich erfreuen sich unsere Pferde ebenfalls immer größerer Beliebtheit. Schaufenster der Zucht sind die beliebten Verdener Auktionen.

Hannoveraner Hengste

Die herausragende Position Hannovers im nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerb ist nur durch konsequent umgesetzte Selektionsmaßnahmen möglich.
Den Hannoveraner Züchtern stehen rund 400 Hengste zur Verfügung. Das Niedersächsische Landgestüt Celle setzt auf seinen Besamungsstationen rund 120 Landbeschäler ein. Die anderen Vererber befinden sich in Privatbesitz. Ein großer Teil dieser Deckstationen hat sich im Verein Hannoveraner Privathengsthalter P.B. organisiert.

Hannoveraner Stuten

Die Stutenseite basiert auf über 1.800 Hannoveraner Stutenstämme. Sie sind der Grundstock des Erfolges der Hannoveraner Zucht und das Ergebnis einer über Generationen fortgeführten strengen Selektion.

Hannoveraner Fohlen

Ein gesundes Fohlen ist das Glück eines jeden Züchters. Der Hannoveraner Verband registriert Fohlen in den Zuchtbüchern für Hannoveraner, Rheinländer und Hannoveraner Halbblutrennpferde

Hannoveraner Stutenstamm

Stuten aus gut durchgezüchteten, vererbungssicheren Stämmen sind das wertvollste Gut des Pferdezüchters. Gerade die Hannoveraner Zucht bietet eine große Anzahl an hervorragenden Mutterstämmen, aus denen immer wieder Sportpferde für die verschiedenen Disziplinen, gekörte Hengste und wertvolle Mutterstuten hervorgehen.

Hannoveraner Zuchtprogramm

Die herausragende Position Hannovers im nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerb ist nur durch konsequent umgesetzte Selektionsmaßnahmen möglich. Die im Zuchtziel verankerten Ziele sollen mit Hilfe des Zuchtprogrammes erreicht werden. Leitlinien befassen sich mit aktuellen Handlungsfeldern und das Programm Hannoveraner Springpferdezucht markiert die Eckpunkte für diese Teilpopulation.
Dabei wird an Bewährtem festgehalten und neue Möglichkeiten werden immer wieder gesucht und  aufgezeigt.

Geschichte und Ursprung des Hannoveraners

Die Anfänge der gezielten Hannoveraner Zucht lassen sich bis in das 16. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen. Der Hannoveraner wurde für die Landwirtschaft und für den Militärdienst gehalten und gezüchtet. Pferdezucht in Hannover war eine wesentliche Existenzgrundlage der Bauern. Großen Einfluss hat hier die Gründung des Landgestütes in Celle 1735, mit der die zentrale Registrierung von Bedeckungen und Abfohlungen eingeführt wurde. Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden vermehrt Vollblut- und englische Halbbluthengste zur Veredelung des "Hannöverschen Pferdes" eingesetzt. Nach 1870 erfolgte die Konsolidierung der Zucht unter Berücksichtigung der einheimischen Stämme, bei der die Kutsch- und Militäreignung des Hannoveraners im Vordergrund stand. In diese Zeit fällt die Gründung des Hannoverschen Stutbuches 1888, dem Vorgänger unseres heutigen Verbandes.
Die Gründung des Verbandes hannoverscher Warmblutzüchter 1922 durch den Zusammenschluss der Züchter schaffte die Voraussetzung für eine zentral gelenkte, einheitliche züchterische Bearbeitung und Auswertung aller erfassten Zuchtvorgänge. Während in der Zeit zwischen den beiden Weltkriegen besonderer Wert auf die Nutzung in der Landwirtschaft gelegt wurde, kam es nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg zur Umstellung und Neugestaltung der Hannoveraner Zucht. Vor allem durch den Einsatz von Trakehnern und Vollblütern wurde der Hannoveraner erneut veredelt und zu dem, was er heute ist: Ein rittiges, edles, großliniges und korrektes Warmblutpferd, das als Sport und Freizeitpartner auf der ganzen Welt geschätzt wird.

Hannoveraner Sport und FRH

Der Sport steht im Fokus der heutigen züchterischen Bemühungen. In den olympischen Disziplinen Dressur, Springen und Vielseitigkeit zählt der Hannoveraner seit jeher zu den erfolgreichsten Pferderassen der Welt. Diese Tatsache hat bis heute bestand. Mit dem FRH hat sich der Hannoveraner Verband auch der Sportförderung verschrieben.